Showing posts with label Google adsense. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Google adsense. Show all posts

Sunday, August 26, 2007

How to boost your AdSense revenue

Google's AdSense is a fascinating revenue-sharing opportunity for small, medium and large web sites.

Make money with AdSense

Some webmasters are designing brand new sites specifically for serving AdSense text ads. (It's against the AdSense rules to design a site purely for AdSense, so you'll want to include a few affiliate links or sell your own product, too.)


AdSense allows you to serve text-based Google AdWords on your web site and receive a share of the pay-per-click payment. AdSense ads are similar to the AdWords ads you see on the right-hand side at Google when you do a search there.

AdSense is having a huge impact on the affiliate marketing industry. Weak affiliate merchants will die faster than ever and big ad networks are going to lose customers fast.

If you're a merchant running a lousy affiliate program, now's the time to improve it FAST.


AdSense's advantages
AdSense is simple to join.


It's easy to paste a bit of code into your pages.


It's free to join.


You don't have to spend time finding advertisers.


Google provides well written, highly relevant ads – chosen to closely match the content on your pages.


You don't have to waste time choosing different ads for different pages.


You don't have to mess around with different code for various affiliate programs.


You're free to concentrate on providing good content and Google does the work of finding the best ads for your pages from 100,000 AdWords advertisers.


It's suitable for beginners or marketing veterans.


AdSense provides simple, easy-to-understand stats.


If you have affiliate links on your site, you ARE allowed to add AdSense ads. However, with your affiliate links, you must not mimic the look and feel of the Google ads.


You can filter up to 200 URLs, so you can block ads for sites that don't meet your standards. You can also block strong competitors.
Inevitably, AdSense is competing strongly for space on web sites with all other revenue sharing opportunities.

If you own a small web site you can now plug a bit of code into your site and almost instantly relevant text ads that are likely to appeal to your visitors will appear on your pages.

If you own several sites, you need apply only once. This makes AdSense much simpler than joining a bunch of affiliate programs.

As you can see, I'm really keen on this revenue sharing service. Unfortunately, there's no referral program – I can't earn money by telling you how good it is!


Disadvantages
One problem is inappropriate ads. You don't want spammy junk advertised on your site. Google's standards probably aren't as high as yours. You can filter out 200 URLs, but in some industries that won't be enough.

WARNING: To give you a good look at how AdSense works, I have filtered out only one site whose ads I don't want to appear on this page.

The stats Google supplies are inadequate. They're easy to understand at a glance. However, they don't tell you which ads people are clicking on, or which keywords are involved. That's frustrating.

Also, I'd like to be able to identify and block ads that have very low payout rates, without doing a lot of sleuthing and messing around.

The ad panels say "Ads by Google" – free advertising for Google. You don't earn anything if someone clicks on that link.

The minimum payout is $100, which is regarded as too high by sites which don't receive much traffic. That won't worry experienced webmasters.

Also, sites that want to display AdSense ads may not include "other content-targeted and/or text-based ads on the pages displaying AdWords ads." However, human beings review the sites. Rejected sites have been able to appeal successfully.

Another disadvantage is that Google doesn't want you to share your stats with other webmasters. The AdSense Terms and Conditions say:

"Confidentiality. You agree not to disclose Google Confidential Information without Google's prior written consent. 'Google Confidential Information' includes without limitation: ... (b) click-through rates or other statistics relating to Site performance in the Program provided to you by Google..."

That's really weird. Web site owners need to be able to share such information and discuss successes and failures.

A big disadvantage of the service is that Google doesn't say how much its AdSense partners will receive. You'll just receive an unknown share of the revenue.

Only a company with the goodwill and respect Google has earned could get away with such a cheeky offer.

Google says:

"How much will I earn through this program? The AdWords ads you are able to display on your content pages are cost-per-click (CPC) ads. This means that advertisers pay only when users click on ads. You'll receive a portion of the amount paid for clicks on AdWords ads on your website. Although we don't disclose the exact revenue share, our goal is to enable publishers to make as much or more than they could with other advertising networks."

So the only way to know how much you'll earn is to try it and see. If you want to bail out, all you have to do is remove the code from your site.

Don't put all your eggs in the AdSense basket. If Google discovers fraudulent clicks on ads appearing on your pages, it can dump your site from the service, and refuse to pay you all revenue owed. Some webmasters who claim total innocence have had this happen to them.

Google has made several changes to its AdSense FAQ, clarifying varying things. For example, you CAN apply for separate accounts for separate web sites. I've done so, and checked with Google that it's OK. Read the rules – they look ambiguous to me. If in doubt, ask first! Google has added "channels" which improve the tracking. I strongly recommend that you experiment with these.

Sites with "excessive advertising" are being rejected.

PLEASE read the rules and FAQ. When I looked, some advice in the rules contradicted advice in the FAQ. If in any doubt, ask their support staff. They're very helpful.


Experiences with AdSense
The payment you receive per click depends on how much advertisers are paying per click to advertise using Google's AdWords service. Advertisers can pay as little as 5 cents per click and as high as $10 or $12 in profitable niches, perhaps even more sometimes. You earn a share of that.

So your payment rates can vary enormously.

The rules forbid me from revealing my stats. However, in the tests I'm doing on five sites, the results have been startling – far better than I expected. The results are much better than I receive from many affiliate programs.

In the past, I've talked to affiliates who were happy to receive $5 or $6 CPM (per 1,000 page views). My results from AdSense leave such affiliate revenues far behind.

I've increased my use of AdSense. It's a winner!

If my results are typical, it helps enormously if you build very simple, uncluttered pages so that the ads catch the visitor's eye more than anything else.


Will those ads appear?
Publishers can choose to have their ads displayed only on Google or also on a large network of sites.

Will AdSense ads you see on Google appear your pages? To get an idea, find web pages that have material similar to the content you're planning to create and look at their AdSense ads.

You can also use AdSense's preview tool to see which ads are being displayed to people in different countries.

Beware: If you choose certain topics, Google will not allow you to place AdSense ads on your site and you'll miss out on a very lucrative opportunity.

Such topics include gambling, firearms, ammunition, balisongs, butterfly knives, and brass knuckles; beer or alcohol; tobacco or tobacco-related products; and prescription drugs.


How much can you earn?

Let's say you have a goal of earning $100,000 a year from AdSense. Is that possible?

Let's see ... $100,000 divided by 365 = $274 a day. So your goal is to produce either:


274 pages which earn $1 a day
OR

548 pages which earn 50 cents a day
OR

1096 pages which earn 25 cents a day

The following are hypothetical cases. To earn $1 a day per page, you need, per page...

400 visitors, 5% click-through rate (CTR) and average 5c payout.
Or 200 visitors, 10% CTR and an average 5c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 10% CTR, and an average 10c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 5% CTR, and an average 20c payout.
Or 50 visitors, 10% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 25 visitors, 20% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 20 visitors, 10% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 10 visitors, 20% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 5 visitors, 20% CTR and $1 average payout.

Let's assume you choose a goal somewhere around the middle, say aiming for 50 visitors per page and want 274 pages earning $1 a day. You'd need 274 x 50 = 13,700 pageviews a day.

Does that sound too tough? If so, you'd better look for more profitable keywords and ways to improve your click-through rates.

Let's try a different scenario. You choose more profitable keywords and make your $1 on average per page from, say, 10 visitors. 274 x 10 = 2740 pageviews a day.

That's looking easier to achieve. If your average visitor sees 3 pages, you now need 913 unique visitors a day.

Is that too tough to achieve in your niche? If so, create two sites, each attracting half that number, 456 unique visitors, a day.

Can't achieve those click-through rates and payouts? Then you'll either need more pages on your sites on more niche sites.

Some affiliates have a goal of writing one article a day and building one site a month.

Need a little more help reaching that $100,000 goal? Add affiliate commissions into the equation. Add a newsletter for repeat sales.

Choose the goal which best matches your site or sites.

Then start building keyword-rich pages containing well researched, profitable keywords, and get lots of high quality links to your site.

Please note, because of the AdSense rules, these are all hypothetical cases. I'm not allowed to give real cases. Real CTR rates and payouts vary hugely.


It's fast
Google usually approves web sites in less than a day.

After your site is approved, within a few hours a special Google spider will spider your site. Then it's time to paste the code into your site and the text ads will appear.

You can choose between either horizontal or skyscraper AdSense ads.


How AdSense matches ads to web pages
Google is doing a good job of finding ads that are highly relevant to the web pages.

Google says:

"We go beyond simple keyword matching to understand the context and content of web pages. Based on an algorithm that includes such factors as keyword analysis, word frequency, font size, and the overall link structure of the web, we know what a page is about, and can precisely match Google ads to each page."

Occasionally Google gets it wrong. It places great importance on the file name. So be sure to use important keywords in the file name of each page, such as "contextual-advertising.html" for an article on contextual advertising.

Also, watch out for your anchor text – the words in the links on your page. We've found that sometimes if irrelevant ads are being served, you can fix the problem by rewriting anchor text.

You can check the relevance of the ads by looking at the text ads near the top-right of this page.


Sites using AdSense
Sites using AdSense include large information sites, affiliate-driven sites, forums and blogs.

"Chat" sites are considered not suitable. Some blogs are being rejected, but information-rich blogs are being accepted.


GoogleGuy explains AdSense
GoogleGuy, an anonymous Google employee who contributes to discussions on the WebMasterWorld.com forums, explains how AdSense will help information sites:

"...sites that provide solid content, especially niche sites that don't want to hunt down their own advertisers, should really benefit ... there's a whole universe of people who ... mostly produce informational sites, and the chance to recoup their costs without much effort is nice. I hope AdSense does encourage more diversity and voices on the web, because now smaller sites can work on what they're interested in – the content of their sites – without worrying very much about the costs of self-publishing information."


How to choose sites to block
You'll probably want to block some of the AdSense ads from appearing on your site. As well as blocking rubbishy sites, you may want to block tough competitors.

The ability to block sites is especially important for sites that are not purely affiliate-income driven. For example, if you're selling a service or a product you won't want competitors' ads on your site.

You can find such competitors by doing some searches on Google for key phrases that are important on your site and looking at the AdWords ads that appear.


Affiliate programs versus AdSense earnings
Affiliate programs are often compared by looking at the EPC – earnings per click.

However, if you want to compare affiliate programs commissions with AdSense earnings, a more precise way is to calculate the payout you receive per 1,000 page views (CPM).

Here's how to calculate your CPM:

Let's say you earn $180 in affiliate commissions from 30 thousand (30,000) page views. $180 divided by 30 = $6. You have a CPM of $6. Not very inspiring, but not uncommon.

The AdSense stats display the effective CPM you earn.

Remember, AdSense doesn't have to replace your affiliate commissions. You can earn affiliate commissions AND AdSense commissions from the same page.

If you have a very efficient site with a high conversion rate, AdSense may not be right for you – or perhaps it would be suitable for SOME pages, but not others. Remember, the more choices you give people, the more likely you are to confuse them.

However, if you're creating a large information site, or if you have a site that does not have a brilliant conversion rate, AdSense could prove to be a very profitable addition to your site.

(Strictly speaking, CPM means COST per 1,000 impressions, but the calculation works OK whether you're spending money or earning it.)


How to boost your AdSense revenue
If you hear about people achieving high payments per click with AdSense, remember that's only part of the story. for high total earnings, you also need lots of page views and a high click-through rate.

Here are some ideas on how to achieve those three things:

If you're starting afresh designing a site specifically for AdSense revenue, you'll want a simple design that makes it easy to paste Google's code into a horizontal or vertical space on the site. For experienced webmasters, that's easy.

To increase your click-throughs, design a simple, uncluttered page with the AdSense ads displayed prominently.

Use white space, so that the AdSense panel catches the eye.

Where possible, use ads high on the page. They catch visitors' attention.

Experiment with borderless ads high on the page. (You can create borderless ads by setting the border color to the same as the background color. Look in your AdSense control panel under "Ad settings".)

Try placing AdSense high in the left-hand column. That works well for super affiliate James Martell.

On very simple, one-column pages, making your article wrap around AdSense ads near the top-right of the page works remarkably well for me on a non-Internet marketing site.

Stick to only one topic per page – that makes it easier for Google to serve up highly relevant ads on your pages.

Plain, bland pages with few competing hyperlinks result in higher click-through rates on the AdSense ads.

If you want to target certain high-priced keywords, use them in the file name, in the heading on the page, and in the first paragraph – in other words, use search engine optimization techniques.

If you change those keywords, Google will change the ads that appear on your page.

If you have trouble getting AdSense to serve relevant pages, check your anchor text – the words used in links on your page. Try changing some of those words.

Watch out for cases where Google has guessed wrong, and is displaying ads that won't interest your visitors. Figure out which words are involved, and rewrite those words. Help Google by sticking closely to the topic.

Don't worry about losing traffic via those clicks. If you can earn maybe 30 or 50 cents or more per click, you WANT to lose visitors!

You'll also want keyword-rich pages, optimized to rank highly in search engines, so you can serve lots of pages.

Try using ads at the top of the page and again at the bottom. At first, this wasn't allowed but AdSense changed the rules and it's now OK.

One of the beautiful things about AdSense is that you can now generate revenue from informational sites even if there are no obvious related affiliate programs. With more than 100,000 advertisers, there's a good chance that Google will find ads that match your pages, better than the big ad networks can.

Don't be tempted into trying to create thousands of spammy computer-generated articles. Human beings review sites for AdSense. Build useful, interesting sites. Google likes them.

One way to create articles quickly is use Gary Antosh's approach. He pays people to write articles for him - by the truckload. So far he has bought hundreds of them and paid only $5 per article. See How to buy articles for $5 - the details

Another way is to use works that are copyright-free. Here's a book that describes how to find such articles: The Public Domain: How to Find and Use Copyright-Free Writings, Music, Art & More

However, that technique isn't likely to be useful for long. At the very least, it would be wise to add your own introduction and conclusions to make your pages different from everyone else's.

For long-term success, write your own original articles on a topic you're passionate about. That way, you're writing for humans AND search engines.


Serious tracking to maximize profits

How do you find out which AdSense ads get the highest number of click-throughs? How do you find out which ads are best at generating clicks that pay?

AdSense provides what it calls "channels", and you can experiment to find out which pages on your site are generating the most revenue, which colors work best, what ad placement works best, whether you should use borderless ads, etc.

However, if you have a large site, you'll find AdSense tracking via channels is seriously lacking.

AdSense Tracker is a powerful php script that keeps detailed logs of all impressions and clicks on AdSense ads on all your websites without altering the ad code itself. The data can then be used to analyze the effectiveness of your sites, track different ad sizes and styles, or even individual pages.

You can track every click-through so you'll know what your visitors are looking for. This makes it easy for you to build more perfectly targeted, profitable pages.

It can track unlimited domains and pages. It's resource intensive and should be hosted separately.

If you just have a small site you probably don't need it. AdSense Tracker is a tool for professionals.


You want profitable keywords: high demand, low supply
Keep in mind that some topics attract much higher payouts per click than others.

For example, if your site is about topics such as debt consolidation, web hosting or asbestos-related cancer, you'll earn much more per click than if it's about free things.

On the other hand, if you concentrate only on top-paying keywords, you'll face an awful lot of tough competition.

What you want are keywords that are high in demand and low in supply.

So do some careful keyword research before you build your pages.


Why are the wrong ads being displayed?

Sometimes, Google seems to get it wrong. You create a page and ads you've seen elsewhere and were expecting to see on your page just don't turn up. Instead, you see vaguely relevant or totally irrelevant ads.

Here are four possibilities:

1. Your page isn't perfectly optimized for the keywords. It's very important to get the key phrase in the file name, for example "product-xyz.html", in the title, in the heading, in the first paragraph, in the body, at the end, and put it in the meta tag description, too.

2. Advertisers can choose to advertise just on Google's search engine. They can opt out of advertising on the AdSense content network. Perhaps the advertisers you're interested in have opted out. To check, type a few phrases into Google and try to find some sites that are displaying Google ads and see which ads appear.

3. Advertisers can choose which countries will see their ads. If you're in Canada, for example, you may not see an ad that people in the U.S. will see. To find out where ads are being displayed, download the free Adsense Preview Tool.

4. This is very rare, but weird stuff can happen for no apparent reason. If all else fails, contact AdSense support. I've always found them prompt and helpful.


9 ways to do keyword research for AdSense pages

1. If you have a Google AdWords account, pretend you are planning to advertise using different keywords, and see how much you'd have to pay. That will give you a good indication of the popularity of the keywords.

Here's how. Follow these steps. In step 2, "Create Ad Group", click on "Calculate Estimates" and "Recalculate Estimates". These show you the maximum you would have to pay per click to advertise for particular keywords or key phrases.

For finding new key phrases, you can also use the AdWords Keywords Tool. It may be useful. Sometimes it's not.

2. Keywords Analyzer is a superb new tool which can generate thousands of key phrases that people are typing into search engines. If you have a Wordtracker account, you can also import data from Wordtracker and analyze it. It shows you, for example, how many advertisers have ad campaigns at AdWords for each phrase. If you're using AdSense, the more advertisers the better!

3. Have a look at the top 100 keywords on 7search. This will give you a quick idea of keywords that people are willing to pay big money for. You can also type phrases into the 7Search Keyword Suggestion Tool. This is just step one of your keyword research. You'll want to dig deeper.

4. At FindWhat pay-per-click search engine you can do a search for any phrase and quickly see how much advertisers are paying per click.

5. You can also experiment typing words into Overture's View Bids Tool. Let's say you type in "asbestos cancer". The top three advertisers often pay about $12 per click. So that would be an good choice for a topic – provided you're a specialist on mesothelioma.

For "debt consolidation", the top two advertisers often pay more than $9 per click.

6. The free Web Marketing Keyword Bid Research Tool speeds up your research at Overture. Type in a keyword and learn how much advertisers are paying per click at Overture and also find out how many searches were done on that keyword last month.

For "debt consolidation", the top two advertisers often pay more than $9 per click.

7. KeywordSleuth is a wonderful tool for very fast keyword research. You can find hundreds or even thousands of keywords – or key phrases – with just one click. It's fabulous to use if all you want is to find an enormous number of related key phrases with one click – much better than messing around with Overture. It has a free trial.

8. You can use Wordtracker to look for the 1,000 most popular keywords. You can also use it to compile a useful list of keywords relating to one topic. If you buy it for a day or a week, you can do a lot of research in that time. It's the tool the professionals use.

Wordtracker has a free trial, but it's fairly limited. You can subscribe for as little as one day and do an awful lot of keyword research in that time.

9. The brainstorming and research tools in Site Build It! are my favorite way to do brainstorming for keywords that are in high demand and low supply.. SBI is a superb tool – actually, a suite of tools. It's an all-in-one web hosting, site-building and web marketing tool. Type in a keyword and SBI Manager will present you with dozens of profitable keywords – ones with high demand and low supply. It can present them in order of profitability. Drill down, and you'll get dozens more profitable keywords.

I recommend you double check the results using Wordtracker.

SBI also has an "Analyze It" tool that helps you build keyword-rich pages that rank highly in search engines. It's simply superb. I use it and love it.

Site Build It! is an excellent choice for quickly building large, simple sites designed to rank highly in search engines – which makes it perfect for generating lots of AdSense revenue. Check it out.

QUICK SUMMARY: Build useful, simple sites – one topic per page – using valuable key phrases that are high in demand and low in supply. For researching, building and promoting easy-to-build sites that rank high in search engines, there's one suite of tools that's head and shoulders above all the rest – Site Build It!

Site Build It! builds sites that work for ANY small business. See the proof...

Saturday, August 11, 2007

Adsense Secrets: Getting More Clicks on Your Ads

More CTR (Click Thru Ratio) means more clicks on your Google Ads. But, is CTR all about position and colors of your ads? No! It's a lot more than that. CTR also depends upon the quality of traffic, relevancy of ads, and even the subject of your website. Let's get in detail:

Do you own a High CTR website?

Yes! CTR varies from Industry to industry too. It depends upon the keywords you are using to make your web page. It has been observed that more technical the topic is (but not necessarily) less CTR it will give you (for example Search Engine Optimization, Affiliate Network - exceptions are always there), but still works if the Ad content is well written.

However, this is only one condition; there are many undiscovered conditions that affect the CTR of keywords. At times, a particular season also has an effect on the performance of keywords. For example family of 'Turkey recipe' keyword is more active around November and December only and a quite sluggish rest of the year. It becomes really necessary to study the behavior of keywords before starting a massive website of Adsense around a topic.

Your Ad Position and Color: Old, but very effective

Google heat map helps improve the CTR (Clicks Thru Ratio) of your website by suggesting you the most converting areas for your Adsense Ads. You can have a glance at the Google's Survey that illustrates the ideal placements of ads on your web page.
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/static.py?page=tips.html#17954


Darker the area, better will be the performance of your ads. Your visitor tends to click on these darker areas more often than the other areas of the web page. Ads placed near rich content usually do well because users are focused on those areas of your web page. For example, on pages where users are typically focused on reading an article, ads placed directly below the concluding part of high quality content tend to perform well, as the visitors are left with no other choice except clicking the Ad block.

Get Targeted Traffic - The Most Essential Part

Traffic that is interested in your content (also called targeted traffic) is interested in your ads too. Thus, there is every likelihood that your ads will be clicked more frequently. Targeted traffic means more CTR, more earnings, and enhanced ad convertibility. On the other hand, the untargeted visitors are not interested either in your content or your ads, so keep your website's traffic targeted.

You can gather highly targeted traffic for your website by web promotion strategy and effective optimization of your web page structure. Effective web promotion strategy requires an appropriate Anchor text and more back links from relevant websites. And, to develop an effective web page structure, you have to optimize your Title Text, internal linking of your website, and most importantly your web content, in the best possible manner.

Choose the Right Anchor Text for Back Link Campaigns

Choosing the right anchor text for back links promotes your website to the traffic you exactly need from the search engines. Choose the Anchor text that directly speaks to your visitors and pulls the traffic that your web page requires. Targeted traffic results in increased CTR of ads. It helps promote your website to that segment of traffic, which is precisely searching for your content (or you can say the traffic that is most profitable to you). Targeting irrelevant keyword reduces your CTR by gathering the traffic which is not interested in your content or ads.

Wisely Choose the Title Text of Your Web Page

Title text of your webpage appears in the SERPs (Search Engine Result Pages) as the Title link to your web page. Therefore, it is the title Text that directly speaks to the surfer on SERPs (Search Engine Result Pages) about your content's theme. It acts like a Free Advertisement Link to your website. If your title text does not interest the surfer, you lose considerable amount of much-needed traffic. Figure out a Title text that directly communicates with your potential visitors, brings targeted traffic, and enhances the CTR of your AdSense Ads. Don't overdo your title text, and use less than ten keywords in your title text.

Help Google Detect the Theme of Your Web Page

There are many on-page and off-page elements that affect your ad relevancy. Better targeted ads increase both your CTR and EPC. Here is how to optimize your ads:

Meta Tags

If there is NO CONTENT on your web page, the Google Mediabot will consider the Meta Tags while displaying ads. Meta tags have a considerable affect on the relevancy of your ads. It is advised never to leave this space empty. Also, try to make it as easy as possible for Mediabot to understand the theme of your web page.

Title Text

Google Mediabot gives good weightage to the keywords used in the Title text, which in turn gets reflected in your ads. Choose effective keywords for your Title text. Even the order of words in a keyword can affect the ads that are appearing on your web page. So, choose your keywords wisely.

Headings

Google Mediabot gives importance to the Heading text enclosed in

Boost Relevancy Artificially - Use Google's Section Targeting

Now, you can enhance Ad relevancy by using Google's Section targeting. Using this technique you can advise Google mediabot about the areas of your content which should be considered or ignored while matching the Ads with your content.

For more information on the same topic, visit:
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/answer.py?answer=23168&topic=371

Use Channels for Analyzing Your Ads' Performance

Try to relate your traffic logs with your CTR stats. You will get to know which Traffic source is giving you what CTR. This will help you recognize the traffic segment which is most converting for your website. Channels allow you to analyze your ads' performance, so that you can pin point the changes that your website needs to boost your AdSense income. There are two types of channels available - URL Channels and Custom Channels. You can use the URL channel to track your performance, without modifying your Ad code. Through URL channels, you can analyze the performance of individual page or a group of pages, based on the directory system of your website.

Custom channels can help you measure the performance of different Ad formats presented in your web pages. And, by pasting channel-specific ad code into your pages, you can track CTR, Impressions, number of clicks each individual ad format is generating, and compare its performance with other web pages.

Block Junk Websites and Competitor Websites from Showing Ads

There are many junk websites that might be displaying ads on your website. These websites steal the traffic from your website and recycle it on their own Adsense ad blocks. Recognize such websites and stick them in Adsense Competitive Ad filter. Also, you can block your competitor websites using this competitive filter.

This trick can sometimes double or triple your Adsense income, augment user experience, and makes look your Google ads more genuine. For more information about this tool, visit:
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/answer.py?answer=21593&ctx=sibling

Multiply Your Earnings

600,000 New Adsense ideas are just a few clicks away now!

Confused about which new Adsense topics or keywords should you use to build more content?

Keyword Country lets you browse through over 600,000 topic ideas on which you can build profitable websites. Keyword Country presents over 600,000 Adsense topics to enable you to expand your website.

Keyword Country also discloses the complete keyword family of every root keyword. Its highly in-depth 6 million Adsense keyword database lets you create much more content, which gets you more traffic.

More Keywords = More Content = More Roads from the Search Engines= More Traffic

Profit from a Collection of Powerful Keywords

You can gain from Keyword Country's goldmine of Adsense Topics. These keywords come under the following categories:
  • Highly Paying Keywords - are the ones that can fetch higher EPC (Earnings Per Click) in comparison to normal keywords.


  • Niche Keywords - belong to a specific industry. With niche keywords, you can maximize your returns as they face less competition and attract more target traffic (which means more clicks per ad).


  • Seasonal Keywords - are active only during their season. It's only during that season that they get maximum traffic. For the rest of the year they lie inactive. Keyword Country guides you how to choose seasonal keywords during their peak value, and avoid them for the rest of the time.

  • Paid Traffic Keywords - are those golden high value keywords. Even if you bring paid traffic on such keywords, they will still be paying. Besides, they sometimes tend to multiply your investment. For example: you could invest X amount on Adwords to buy traffic, which would pay you back 5X in Adsense. Keyword Country helps you easily recognize paid traffic keywords.

Keywords Directly from Google

Google started it all. Google AdSense is the leading advertisement network on the net. It is a super giant in search engine industry. Keyword Country offers access to 6.5 million keywords that are taken directly from Google (not from Overture.), as it is the most precise source of pricing data, competition, and number of sponsors. With Keyword Country, you have an edge as you get the niche keywords that drive more traffic to your website. Now you can learn about the niche keywords that boost your revenue. Accuracy is Keyword Country's biggest strength as it draws its keywords directly from Google.

Keyword Country also includes the keywords that are rated high, but not the highest. Other keywords that are similar to the most expensive keywords are also included. This makes Keyword Country's database dense and more transparent.

Maximize your AdSense Revenue

What are High Paying Keywords?

No! High paying keywords are not the keywords that have high CPC. There are many keywords in Google Adwords system, which have a high CPC, but no Advertisers bidding on them. Relying too much on the CPC can lead you to many Fake high paying keywords. High Paying Keywords refer to those keywords on which the advertisers bid madly, and are ready to pay (more than average) per click to anybody who fetches them the target traffic. Keywords are the search phrases that belong to a specific industry. For example, "Student loan" belongs to Finance or Loan industry. Some industries are highly populated with Advertisers and competitors while others are not. And those keywords are called High Paying Keywords.

Why Should Target High Paying Keywords?

Getting 0.05 cents per click? How about $2, $4, $7, or more per click? Targeting with High Paying Keywords ensures that you get more Earnings per Click (EPC). All you need is more traffic. An ideal high paying keyword has more Advertisers and less competing pages. Such a keyword has high traffic value, and therefore, people link easily to your web page. watch video >>

What are fake High Paying Keywords?

In the Google Adwords system, there are many keywords, which have a very high CPC, but unfortunately, no advertisers bidding on them. Who is going to pay you something like $70 per click if there are no Advertisers bidding on the keywords? Hence, it is important to check the number as well as the quality of the Advertisers glued to a keyword. When you send a click to Google, it is passed through many filters. Google examines that click from various perspectives such as - which keyword generated that click, which page has it been generated from, whether or not the click is useful for the advertiser, and its SmartPricing factor. That is why it’s so important for you to see beyond the CPC to get hold of the real profitable keywords. You actually need to analyze the behavior of a keywords to fathom what actually they are paying and why! Watch Video to learn more >>

How Does Keyword Country Help You Discover Them?

Get access to 6.5 Million high value keywords, and see the real picture of High paying keywords. Predict your earnings before you even target a keyword, and study the behavior of keywords. These real high paying keywords help you earn more per click, fetch more traffic, and get more CTR. Get access to the highest paying keywords, most searched keywords, highest CTR keywords, or even the most niche keywords that exist on planet earth.…and all this becomes POSSIBLE with Keyword Country. Watch Video>>

How to Find Top Paying Keywords?


Tuesday, July 24, 2007

How to Avoid Having Your AdSense Accout Banned for Click Fraud

If you trawl through the AdSense message boards you can’t help but come across tales of woe from AdSense publishers that have had their account banned by Google.

Below is a list of ways people have been banned from AdSense and information on how to avoid it happening to you.

Don’t click on your own ads

The obvious one but still people do it. Google has the IP address of the computer/s that you’ve used to create and check your AdSense account. If it sees that this IP address clicks one of your ads you’re in trouble.

Don’t do it. It’s theft. Not from Google but from the AdWords advertisers.

If you want to go to a site advertised by one of your ads don’t click on it look at the URL of the advertising site at the bottom of the ad and type it into your browser.

If you click on one accidentally (which does happen) you’re probably be ok but it’s worth dropping a quick email to Google with an explanation and apology

Don’t log in to AdSense from a shared computer.

As I said above Google keeps a record of every machine IP address used to look at your account. If you check your stats on a machine then someone else clicks on your ads from the same machine Google sees this as click fraud. Worth bearing in mind when thinking of checking your stats from somewhere like an Internet Café.

Don’t log in to your AdSense account from work.

Apart from getting in trouble with the company that employs you there’s also a further real risk. Most companies use a proxy server to access the Internet. A proxy server with ONE IP ADDRESS. Therefore you checking your ads from work means this proxy IP address being recorded by Google as one that you use. Problem is if there are 1000 people in your company it is the same IP address for them too. Google can’t differentiate between you and the other 999 employees in your company. If one of these 999 clicks on one of your ads it’s ban time.

Don’t get into a ‘I’ll click your ads if you click mine’ agreement with another Webmaster.

As above Google will have your IP address and that of every AdSense publisher. If they see these IP addresses consistently clicking on each other ads it’s goodbye for both of you.

Don’t tell friends and family.

Telling friends and family about your money making websites can lead to problems. Even if you tell them not to click on your ads there’s always the chance that Auntie Maud will think it’s a good idea to make some extra money for her favourite nephew. 100 clicks later from the same visitor and your account is screaming ‘Click Fraud’.

Receiving clicks from illegal traffic

Check the AdSense TOS for sources of traffic that aren’t allowed by Google. These include methods like Traffic exchange, PTC advertising, Auto surf etc.

Do monitor your visitor and AdSense figures

Check your account at least once a day. If you see a massive spike coupled with a massive increase in Page CTR investigate using your visitor stats website. If you see it’s all come from the same IP address you could have been the victim of a malicious attack – inform Google via email and offer them access to your logs.

Adsense Tools

Asrep
is the tool to track the clicks and the impressions real time with total information about the visitors IP,Refrel and more with clicked ad URL, ad color etc (trial version is limited to some specific features but you can use it for unlimited time)

Adsense Notifier -
Firefox extension that displays your Adsense earnings on the Firefox statusbar.

SysSense
personal desktop Google AdSense monitor. It keeps your current Google AdSense information in the Windows system tray.


Adsense Widget -
a Mac Dashboard widget that automatically logs into your AdSense Google account and displays the last 6-days of revenue generated from your Google advertising account.

Google Adsense Yahoo Widget -
displays the current income directly from your Google AdSense account.

Stats for AdSense widget -
allows you to view your Google AdSense™ reports directly from your Mac OS X Dashboard.

Adsense Status -
GoogleDesktop plugin to View earnings information from your Google Adsense account in the Google Desktop sidebar. Available information: page impressions, clicks, page CTR, page eCPM, and your earnings.

Adsense Alert -
desktop client monitors your adsense earnings.

Adsense Gold Tracker -
tracks clicks from Google adsense and Yahoo publisher network ads

AdLogger -
an open source Adsense tracker designed for web publishers and website owners.

Performancing Metrics -
a free professional grade blog statistics service that track limited adsense click data

AdSenseDesktop -
provides a wide variety of analysis methods for your AdSense statistics.

Google AdSense Module (Clicksafe) -
edition Google Adsense module for Joomla.

Adsense earnings RSS feed -
a simple script that will create an RSS feed with your daily Adsense earnings to track via your regular feed reader.

Google AdSense Charts and Graphs -
chart your adsense data in a multidimensional line charts.

AdSenseLog
is a tool for checking and analyzing your Adsense ads data (Content, Search, Custom/URL channels and Referrals).

Adsense Secrets: Getting More Clicks on Your Ads

More CTR (Click Thru Ratio) means more clicks on your Google Ads. But, is CTR all about position and colors of your ads? No! It's a lot more than that. CTR also depends upon the quality of traffic, relevancy of ads, and even the subject of your website. Let's get in detail:

Do you own a High CTR website?

Yes! CTR varies from Industry to industry too. It depends upon the keywords you are using to make your web page. It has been observed that more technical the topic is (but not necessarily) less CTR it will give you (for example Search Engine Optimization, Affiliate Network - exceptions are always there), but still works if the Ad content is well written.

However, this is only one condition; there are many undiscovered conditions that affect the CTR of keywords. At times, a particular season also has an effect on the performance of keywords. For example family of 'Turkey recipe' keyword is more active around November and December only and a quite sluggish rest of the year. It becomes really necessary to study the behavior of keywords before starting a massive website of Adsense around a topic.

Your Ad Position and Color: Old, but very effective

Google heat map helps improve the CTR (Clicks Thru Ratio) of your website by suggesting you the most converting areas for your Adsense Ads. You can have a glance at the Google's Survey that illustrates the ideal placements of ads on your web page.
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/static.py?page=tips.html#17954

Darker the area, better will be the performance of your ads. Your visitor tends to click on these darker areas more often than the other areas of the web page. Ads placed near rich content usually do well because users are focused on those areas of your web page. For example, on pages where users are typically focused on reading an article, ads placed directly below the concluding part of high quality content tend to perform well, as the visitors are left with no other choice except clicking the Ad block.

Get Targeted Traffic - The Most Essential Part

Traffic that is interested in your content (also called targeted traffic) is interested in your ads too. Thus, there is every likelihood that your ads will be clicked more frequently. Targeted traffic means more CTR, more earnings, and enhanced ad convertibility. On the other hand, the untargeted visitors are not interested either in your content or your ads, so keep your website's traffic targeted.

You can gather highly targeted traffic for your website by web promotion strategy and effective optimization of your web page structure. Effective web promotion strategy requires an appropriate Anchor text and more back links from relevant websites. And, to develop an effective web page structure, you have to optimize your Title Text, internal linking of your website, and most importantly your web content, in the best possible manner.

Choose the Right Anchor Text for Back Link Campaigns

Choosing the right anchor text for back links promotes your website to the traffic you exactly need from the search engines. Choose the Anchor text that directly speaks to your visitors and pulls the traffic that your web page requires. Targeted traffic results in increased CTR of ads. It helps promote your website to that segment of traffic, which is precisely searching for your content (or you can say the traffic that is most profitable to you). Targeting irrelevant keyword reduces your CTR by gathering the traffic which is not interested in your content or ads.

Wisely Choose the Title Text of Your Web Page

Title text of your webpage appears in the SERPs (Search Engine Result Pages) as the Title link to your web page. Therefore, it is the title Text that directly speaks to the surfer on SERPs (Search Engine Result Pages) about your content's theme. It acts like a Free Advertisement Link to your website. If your title text does not interest the surfer, you lose considerable amount of much-needed traffic. Figure out a Title text that directly communicates with your potential visitors, brings targeted traffic, and enhances the CTR of your AdSense Ads. Don't overdo your title text, and use less than ten keywords in your title text.

Help Google Detect the Theme of Your Web Page

There are many on-page and off-page elements that affect your ad relevancy. Better targeted ads increase both your CTR and EPC. Here is how to optimize your ads:

Meta Tags

If there is NO CONTENT on your web page, the Google Mediabot will consider the Meta Tags while displaying ads. Meta tags have a considerable affect on the relevancy of your ads. It is advised never to leave this space empty. Also, try to make it as easy as possible for Mediabot to understand the theme of your web page.

Title Text

Google Mediabot gives good weightage to the keywords used in the Title text, which in turn gets reflected in your ads. Choose effective keywords for your Title text. Even the order of words in a keyword can affect the ads that are appearing on your web page. So, choose your keywords wisely.

Headings

Google Mediabot gives importance to the Heading text enclosed in

,

tags present in your web page. After Title text, here is another chance for you to dictate keywords to Google Mediabot.

Boost Relevancy Artificially - Use Google's Section Targeting

Now, you can enhance Ad relevancy by using Google's Section targeting. Using this technique you can advise Google mediabot about the areas of your content which should be considered or ignored while matching the Ads with your content.

For more information on the same topic, visit:
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/answer.py?answer=23168&topic=371

Use Channels for Analyzing Your Ads' Performance

Try to relate your traffic logs with your CTR stats. You will get to know which Traffic source is giving you what CTR. This will help you recognize the traffic segment which is most converting for your website. Channels allow you to analyze your ads' performance, so that you can pin point the changes that your website needs to boost your AdSense income. There are two types of channels available - URL Channels and Custom Channels. You can use the URL channel to track your performance, without modifying your Ad code. Through URL channels, you can analyze the performance of individual page or a group of pages, based on the directory system of your website.

Custom channels can help you measure the performance of different Ad formats presented in your web pages. And, by pasting channel-specific ad code into your pages, you can track CTR, Impressions, number of clicks each individual ad format is generating, and compare its performance with other web pages.

Block Junk Websites and Competitor Websites from Showing Ads

There are many junk websites that might be displaying ads on your website. These websites steal the traffic from your website and recycle it on their own Adsense ad blocks. Recognize such websites and stick them in Adsense Competitive Ad filter. Also, you can block your competitor websites using this competitive filter.

This trick can sometimes double or triple your Adsense income, augment user experience, and makes look your Google ads more genuine. For more information about this tool, visit:
https://www.google.com/support/adsense
/bin/answer.py?answer=21593&ctx=sibling

Sunday, July 22, 2007

Google AdSense: 7 Tips For Creating Sites That Make Money

Having a Google AdSense site is a great way to make money. And to create an AdSense site, all you have to do is have a Google AdSense account (which is free), a website or a blog (which is free), and some articles (which are free if you write them yourself). Once you get your site up and running, the AdSense ads will be targeted to your content.

Therefore, those looking for your content will come by, read your articles, and have a high probability of being interested in the targeted ads. Every time someone clicks an ad, you get paid! That is, as long as you have designed your site to maximize AdSense clickthroughs!

Let's look at seven tips for creating AdSense sites that create money.

#1: Keyword Density

Before you place ads on your site, be sure your keyword density is good. You will want to be sure that the right kinds of ads are placed on your site. A free way to determine what the ads will look like on your site is to go to http://www.resultsgenerator.com/adsense/ and type in your keywords. You will then be able to see exactly what ads would show on your site.

If you don't like what you see, then you know that you need to make changes to your keywords! You can get keyword suggestions from Results Generator from Overture or from the free trial version of Word Tracker.

#2: Focused

Not only will the ads be based on your keywords, but they will also be based on your content. You definitely want your keywords and your content to match as closely as possible.

#3: Write Often

The more information you have the better. Why? Because the more content you have, the more visitors you get. Many people suggest that you write a new article every day since no one wants to come back to your site to find the same old messages!

#4: Choose The Right Format

AdSense allows you to choose many different ad formats. Research has shown that wider ads are more successful. The top three formats are:

" 336x280 large rectangle
" 300x250 medium rectangle
" 160x600 wide skyscraper

Additionally, the 468x15 horizontal ad link under the navigation bar is also a good bet.

#5: Color Counts

You have the option to create a Google AdSense ad in any color of your choice. The best thing to do is to make your ad blend well with your site color scheme. You should make the border color and the background color the same color as your web site. You will want your text color to either be black or the color of your main content.

When creating your Google AdSense ads it is recommended to use the color scheme and style of your website so that the ads blend in well. Ads without background color and borders perfom better than ads within borders with background color.

#6: Position Counts, Too

It is well known that visitors to a website scan the site to determine if it is worth reading. You definitely want them to see and scan your AdSense ads. Therefore, the best place to put them is in the top left part of your page or directly under your headlines.

#7: Increase The Number

AdSense allows you to use up to three AdSense units on a page, two AdSense search boxes, and one unit of ad links. Using all that you can increases the chances of earning money.

Keep these seven tips in mind when creating your AdSense site and you will find that your clickthrough rates increase, thus increasing your money making potential.




6 Steps To Picking Profitable Adsense Keywords

Knowing how to find the best keywords for use in your Adsense ads is
not a straightforward process. Finding and implementing high profit,
low competition keywords in your ads really is the trick for making
Adsense payoff big.

The following process should yield profitable, low competition
keywords for your Adsense ads. This process is not perfect, but when
you analyze it and try it for yourself, you can see that it makes
sense. Adsense that is.

Step 1: Research some keywords for your niche that have a high CPC
value. To do this, first find your keywords using the Google Adwords
keyword tool or another tool that will give you niche specific lists
of keywords. Save those keywords into a spreadsheet program as a csv
file. Copy and paste those keywords into Google's Traffic Estimator
(you will need an Adwords account). The traffic estimator will give
you the estimated clicks per day and the average cost per click (CPC)
for each keyword. Copy and paste this information back into your
spreadsheet file for later reference.

Step 2 Multiply the average CPC by 30% to get an estimate of your
maximum earnings per click. The higher the average CPC, the more
likely the CPC for the 2nd - 8th positions are high as well. You want
this higher average CPC to start because if the CPC starts to drop off
significantly after the 3rd position, your chance of getting high
click earnings as an Adsense publisher will be diminished.

Step 3 Use any one of many tools available on the internet for helping
to estimate the 1st - 8th position CPC values. These tools will
estimate the CPCs for each position and allow you to see how much the
CPCs drop off after the first position. This dramatically helps your
analysis for picking the most profitable keywords. If the CPC values
stay close to the each other and to the value of the first position,
then you will more than likely have a profitable keyword.

Step 4 Now determine which Adsense ads occupy which positions. You can
do this by searching on Google for your keyword and looking to see
which Adsense ads are generated in the search results and in which
order they are. Another way to estimate this is to use the Adwords
Accelerator tool. It has a feature whereby Adwords ads are dynamically
displayed for a given keyword you input into the tool to check. If the
Adwords advertiser has used "Adwords for Content" in his advertising,
these ads will be the Adsense ads someone else is displaying on their
website.

Step 5 Compare the ads you found in step 4 to the results of using a
keyword check function tool (available on the internet). If the
advertisers you find by doing this closely match those you found in
step 4, you will more than likely have a profitable keyword.

If the advertisers are not he same, then the advertiser is possibly
not using the "Adwords for Content" mode of advertising in his
campaigns. This means that the keyword may not be the basis for the
Adsense ads and may not be profitable.

Step 6 Now you must get the traffic. If you decide to get traffic
using the Adwords approach, then just use the keywords in your Adsense
ads that scored well from the above evaluation. Then, use lower cost
per click keywords in your Adwords ads. The difference between the
earnings from the click you get on your Adsense word from the cost of
the click you pay on your Adwords word will be your profit.

If you are planning to use search engine optimization techniques to
get traffic to the website where your ads are, make sure the keywords
you choose have the highest KEI possible. KEI is the ratio of the
number of searches for a keyword to the number of competing sites
having the keyword. The combination of a high KEI and a high score
from the above evaluation will yield the best profit results.

5 Reasons Many Adsense Sites Dont Make Money

With the huge success Google?s Adsense has been reaping, there are now
only a handful of sites you?ll see that doesn?t feature Adsense on
their sites. Everyone is hoping that they could make huge earnings
from this pay-per-click affiliate program scheme Google has launched.

While there are many success stories (they are true) of sites that
have generated good income from Adsense, there are still some sites
that couldn?t grasp the real way of making an earning from Adsense.

This is because many people have failed to generate the needed factors
to create a successful site that compliments the features Adsense
provides. Many webmasters just put up or create mediocre sites and
place Adsense on their site and just sits back and waits for the cash
to roll in.

If that is the mentality of a site owner, then he won't earn from
Adsense. Remember, a mediocre site will also get mediocre earnings.

To finally realize the Adsense dream, a webmaster must produce a site
that has the factors and characteristics needed to generate the
traffic and clicks it needs to be profitable. There are many things a
webmaster needs to do to achieve this and be one of the millions of
sites who have successfully done so. But there are so much more things
a site owner has failed to do to make their site more Adsense
friendly.

Here are five reasons why many Adsense sites don?t make money

1) There are no good keywords on the site.

Many sites have failed to do the very essence of search engine
optimization, Good Keywords. The internet has many websites competing
for the attention of the ?netizens? and many sites contain the same or
almost the same subjects, topics or niches. To date, Google is
searching at over three billion sites; good keywords can get you a
good lead above all the other sites.

It is essential that you research well on finding the good keywords
your site can use to generate the traffic and get a high ranking on
the search engines results. If many internet users are directed to
your site, you get a huge opportunity to get great traffic. With
traffic comes the profit.

In making money you must spend some. Invest in a good program that
searches good and proper keywords for your site. These keywords that
people are looking for changes and varies, a good keyword searcher is
an investment that just keeps on giving.

2) The site doesn?t provide a good niche.

To get the attention of the people, you must provide a site that can
perk up the interest of the people. Adsense works well if you maintain
a good number of traffic, you have to keep the people?s interest on
your site and have a group of people to keep coming back to your site
and have them recommend it.

You must also find a niche wherein these groups of people are
interested in. Find the right niche and you?ll find the right group of
people that are willing to spend some money.

3) The site owner doesn?t maintain or update their site.

You can only maintain the interest of a person for a short period of
time. Many websites have failed to keep up the traffic they generate
for their failure to keep their site updated. Immerse yourself in your
niche and try to find out what?s new and what?s hot.

You have to serve something new to the people or if not, try to keep
abreast with the developments of your niche or maybe add some sub-
niches on your site that still pertains to your niche to get new
traffic and keep the attention of your clients in your site.

4) Some website owners don?t provide the full attention to their
Adsense sites.

Many people just see their sites as a way to earn some extra money.
You have to treat Adsense sites as a full size business to make it
big. With the heavy competition you have, a good webmaster should
treat their site as if it is their main source of income but still
maintain a good schedule of their time.

5) Many webmasters have failed to devout time and research to their
Adsense site.

Many elements are needed to build a successful Adsense site. Good
keywords and the right niches can roll in the dough, but this takes
time and effort. It is imperative to devout a certain amount of time
in looking for ways to develop your Adsense site.

The internet is abound of sites that could help your own site. A
little time, money and hard work can spell the huge difference between
a successful Adsense site and a mediocre one.

Saturday, July 21, 2007

Snatching The Most Paying Ads From Google

AdSense publishers are always on the mercy of Google AdSense System to serve them the best ads for their website. But actually, Google AdSense bot (Mediabot) is on your mercy and needs your help to properly recognize the theme of your webpage to serve you the most relevant and converting ads. When ads are more relevant, they talk directly to the visitors of your page, interest them, and convert them into buyers. Here, we will discuss how to snatch the most converting ads from Google AdSense System, leaving the junk behind.

Injecting Keywords in Your Content

Google's entire system depends on the keywords used in key areas of your content. It detects the theme of your web pages and displays the ads accordingly. These key areas are Title Text, Meta tags, Headings, Anchor txt, and content. Injecting keywords in these areas actually dictates Google Mediabot what your page is about. Let's get into some more details. Use Effective Keywords in Your title Text Google Mediabot gives due consideration to the keywords used in the title tag of HTML Source code, which in turn gets reflected in your ads. Even the order of words in a keyword can affect the ads that are appearing on your web page. So, choose your keywords wisely. For higher payouts, choose highest paying keyword of that category for the title text. Inject High Paying Keywords in Meta Tags If there is NO CONTENT on your web page, the Google Mediabot will consider the Meta Tags to display ads. Meta tags have a considerable impact on the ads of a page. It is advised that never leave this space empty. Try to make it as easy as possible for Mediabot to understand your web page theme. Use Keywords In Your Headings Google Mediabot gives importance to Heading text enclosed in , tags present on your web page. After Title text, here is an another chance for you to dictate keywords to Google Mediabot. For Example, if your website is dealing in music instruments then your probable keywords are musical equipments, instrumental world of music, guitar, and piano.
The heading “various musical instruments” is more relevant (but not the best) than “what we have to sell.” So, try to use more appropriate headings and sub-headings for your web content by injecting relevant keywords. Use Keywords in Anchor Texts and Hyperlinks Google stresses on Anchor texts used to link a webpage - whether the links are incoming or outgoing; whether they are a part of internal linking or external linking. Incoming links of a webpage are reckoned better than the outgoing links. In some cases, Google may just ignore anchor texts of the outgoing links. Therefore, it's important to use good keywords to link your own internal web pages, and also for getting reciprocal links to your website. Embedding Keywords in the Content Besides hosting useful and genuine content on your web pages, it’s important to include keywords at the beginning and at the end of an article. This helps search engines and Ad bots determine the theme of your web page. Good use of keywords help the Google Mediabot to achieve higher Ad-relevancy for your website.

Increasing the Concentration of High Paying Ads

Google never allows you to choose ads for your webpages. Moreover, it's not possible for you to choose ads for each page of your website. Google chooses the most or high paying ads for your pages, but you can help Google to make wiser decisions. You can actually force the Google AdSense System to give you more paying ads. Here is how.... Inject High Paying Keywords Injecting high paying keywords in your content invites high paying ads on your web page. Advertisers are ready to pay much more per click on these keywords. Advertisers bid highly on these keywords in order to bring more web traffic for their website. So, you can use such keywords to boost your EPC (Earning Per Click). You can say, on these keywords, advertisers are fighting against one another to give you higher payouts. Lengthy Articles Dilute the Relevancy of ads Don’t make lengthy web pages as it might mislead Ad-bots to get some wrong ads, resulting in dilution of relevant ads. Sometimes, Ad bots can be very sticky to a certain keyword you used just for a reference. If you are getting irrelevant ads, changing meta tags and Title text is the first thing to start with, then move on to your content. Divide Your Articles in Pages (or link each other) Dividing huge articles in pages works the best. It not only increases the relevancy of the ads, but also gets you more page views. If you don't have lengthy articles, then suggest the related articles a visitor might be interested in. More page views mean more chances of a visitor clicking on your ad. Keep the visitors hooked to your website and keep suggesting them other articles. This way you are recycling the same traffic and increasing the chances of clicks considerably. Section Targeting You can enhance Ad relevancy by using Google’s Section targeting. Through this technique you can advise Google mediabot –"the areas of your content which should be considered or ignored while matching the Ads with your content." To implement section targeting, you'll need to add a set of special HTML comment tags to your code.

To Make a Specific Area Important:

To specify your text, you have to use following tags:

”here appears the text of your content”


To make Google IGNORE an Area:

If you want to ignore your specific text, you can use following tags:

”here appears the text of your content”

For more information on the same topic, visit at: https://www.google.com/support/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=23168&topic=371 Block Junk Websites and Competitor Websites from Showing Ads There are many junk websites that might be displaying ads on your website. These websites steal the traffic from your website and recycle it on their own AdSense ad blocks. Recognize such websites and block them in AdSense Competitive Ad filter. Also, you can block your competitor websites using this competitive filter. Such junk websites not only increase the AdSense Blindness of your users, but also have a negative impact on user’s experience. To your visitors, Google Ads are like simple links and your visitor won't like if you link to junk websites. Right? This trick can sometimes double or triple your AdSense income.

For more information about this tool, visit at: https://www.google.com/support/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=21593&ctx=sibling Monitoring Performance for Further Optimization Monitoring the traffic and performance of your ads elucidates the reasons behind the amount you are earning. Monitoring helps you to identify why some pages are performing badly, and why some pages are performing well. This helps you to take corrective measures in order to gain more AdSense money. Here, is what you need to monitor:
Check Traffic Logs RegularlyEverything comes with a reason. If you are performing badly, try to find out the reason. If you are performing well, figure out why? Check your server traffic logs regularly and see from where exactly you are getting the traffic and which keyword or search engine get you the most converting visitors (traffic). If your earnings show a deflection, analyze your traffic logs and try to relate it to the pattern as well as the behavior of your website traffic. Use Channels for Analyzing Your Ads Performance Channels allow you to analyze your Ads performance so that you can pin point the changes that your website needs to boost your Ads payouts. There are two types of channels available:

URL Channel


You can use the URL channel to track the performance of your URLs without modifying your Ad code. Google lets you analyze the performance of individual page or group of pages based on directory system of your website. You can begin tracking the performance of your pages simply by entering a full or partial URL in your Google Channel Settings.

Enter a top-level domain name to track all of the pages on that domain. For example, google.com, or you can enter a partial URL to track all of the pages below a certain directory. For example, google.com/adsense/ Entering a full URL will track the performance of that particular page. For example, google.com/adsense.html.

Custom Channel


Custom channels can help you monitor the performance of different Ad formats presented in your web pages. By pasting channel-specific ad code into your pages, you can track CTR, Impressions, and the number of clicks each individual ad format is generating. You can compare its performance with other web pages. Google monitors the channels or Ad blocks performance separately when you paste the custom channel enabled code in any html.

You can use the custom channels by creating custom channel name, and then by adding the channel specific code to your web pages. Give a detailed name for your custom channel so that you can easily identify it later in your reports (follow the pattern Page+ Location+ Ad Format+ Color Palette for example: HomeRightSkyscraBlue&white). It is good to analyze every Ad units in your web pages through custom channel. To Conclude High paying Ads from Google is no longer a fantasy! What it requires is : Keyword rich quality content, High paying keywords, remarkable presentation of articles, tools like Google's Section targeting, Ad Filters, traffic monitoring, and Ads performance Analyzing (through Channels) to bring out effective modifications in your Ad layouts.

So, now it all depends on how you implement these guidelines. Go-ahead and get the best out of your AdSense Campaign!

Thursday, July 19, 2007

Common Mistakes in Adsense

am quite sure that you must hear, from time to time, some people have their adsense account being banned. Of course, Google would not ban your account without any reasons. There must be some reasons or mistake that a person has made, so that Google has the concrete evidence to terminate your Adsense account. In the light of that, I would like to take this chance to write a post that share the common mistakes that you may make. I hope, after reading this post, you can avoid doing such silly mistakes and avoid being banned.

1. Do not place more than 3 ad units and 1 ad link or 2 adsense search boxes on any web page. Although Google will automatically dispaly the maximum number of ads in your page , even if you have paste more than permitted, it is a wise way for you to follow the rule.
2. Never click your own adsense ads or ask friends/ relatives to click them. I think this is the golden rule that everyone knows and familiars with. This is a surefire way to close you Adsense account. Never tell your relatives or friends to click on them. Keep a check if your family or children are busy increasing your income by clicking your ads and indirectly trying to stop your income. Very often, people click their own ads simply becasue they are curious on what is behind the ads. That's why they click and open the ads. This is absolutely forbidden! If you really want to see what is behind your ads, use Google Preview tool if required.

2. You should not join those programs like piad-to-surf-, paid-to-click, or even traffic exchange programs. Google have very sophisticated detection system to detect these programs. Also, don't use some sort of deceptive tools in order to have automatic clicks on your ads. Again, Google can detect them quite efficiently.
3. Never change the Adsense code. There are enough means of adsense optimization & customizations available to change the colour, background or border to suit your needs. Do whatever you want to do outside the code, never fiddle within the ad or the search code. They know it when you do. The search code has more limitations to colour and placement, but you should adhere to the rules. The code may stop working and violates the TOS.

4. Do not run competitive contextual text ad or search services on the same site which offer Google Adsense competition in their field. Never try to create link structures resembling the adsense ads. Never use other competitive search tools on the same pages which have Adsense powered Google search. They do allow affiliate or limited-text links.

5. One Account suffices for Multiple websites. You do not need to create 5 accounts for 5 different websites. One account will do. If you live in the fear that if one account is closed down for violation of TOS, believe me they will close all accounts when they find out. You can keep track of clicks by using channels with real time statistics. They will automatically detect the new site and display relevant ads.

6. Place ads only on Content Pages. Google states very clearly that pages should not be made for the sole purpose of showing ads. Hence, you need to have content inside your page(s). Content drives relevant ads. Although you might manage some clicks from error, login, registration, "thank you" or welcome pages, parking pages or pop ups, it will get you out of the program.

7. Do not mask your ads with other elements. Alteration of colours and border is a facility to blend or contrast ads as per your site requirements. I have seen many sites where the url part is of the same colour as the background. While blending the ad with your site is a good idea, hiding relevant components of the ads is not allowed. Although nowadays Google has a tool that automatically detect the background color and chaneg the color of URL of ads, even if you have the same color for both URL of the ads and background. Also do not block the visibility of ads by overlapping tables, pop ups, images etc.
8. Do not disclose confidential information about your account like the CTR, CPM and income derived via individual ad units or any other confidential information they may reveal to you. This mistake actually is quite uncommon to most webmasters. They often display such statistics since they do not aware of this rule. On the other hand, revealing the total money you make as per recent updates to the Google TOS.

9. Label headings as "sponsored links" or "advertisements" only. Other labels are not allowed. I often see many sites label ads with other titles. For example, "Click me...", "Please make a donation by clicking ads" etc. Even if you do not paste such words above, or in close vicinity to Google Ads, you should not have these wordings. It is because these wordings, to a certain extent, provide incentives for visitors to click ads whihc is definitely against Google TOS.
10. Only single referral button per product per page - With the launch of the google adsense referral program, you are allowed to put only one referral button for adsense referral, adwords referral, and Firefox with google toolbar referral. On the other hand, you can have four links in total in each page for four different products. This means that you cannot provide links for all the referral products that Google provides. There are, in fact, 5 different products from Google.

11. Do not specify Google ads as your alternate ads. - Several services like Chitika eminimalls allow you to place alternate urls, when a targeted paying ad cannot be displayed. This involved creating an simple html page and putting the ad to be displayed instead. Even Adsense allows an alternate url feature instead of displaying public service ads. But never use Adsense ads as alternate urls.

12. Add Borders betweem Images and text ads - It was a common policy to increase CTR by placing same number of images as the number of text ads, which falsely gave the impression that the text ads represented an explanation to these images. In order to cope with that, you should insert a border when placing images and text ads in such a manner, to avoid confusing readers to falsely click ads. It is not worth to do such risk.

13. Never launch a New Page for clicked ads by default. Many Adsenser do ask from time to time whether Ads can be shown on a new page or not. The answer is NO! Adsense ads should open on the same page. You may be using a base target tag to open all links in a new window or frame by default. Correct it now as they do not want new pages opening from clicked ads.

14. Keep track of your content. So Adsense is not allowed on several non content pages. But it is also not allowed on several content pages too. Do not add it on web pages with MP3, Video, News Groups, and Image Results. Also exclude any adult content, hate-related, violent, or illegal content.
15. Do not alter the results after ad clicks or searches - Ensure you are not in any way altering the site which the user reaches to after clicking the ads. Do not frame, minimize, remove, redirect or otherwise inhibit the full and complete display of any Advertiser Page or Search Results Page after the user clicks on any Ad or Search results.
16. Do not send your ads by email. Html formatted emails look good and allow placement of these javascript ads. But it is not allowed in Google TOS. You do not want impressions registering on their logs from any email even once. Remember Google has sophisticated softwares!

17. Avoid excessive advertising and keyword stuffing - Although the definition of "excessive" is a gray area and is subject to discretion, yet Google adsense with correct placement, focused content and high traffic will get you much more income than other programs, so excessive advertising is not required. Keyword stuffing does target better focused ads, but overdoing it is not required.

18. Ensure you Language is Supported - Adsense does support a series of languages, including Chinese (simplified), Chinese (traditional), French, Russian, German, Spanish, Hungarian, Swedish, Italian and Turkish, Japanese, Danish, Korean, Dutch, Norwegian, English, Polish, Finnish, Portuguese. If your web pages language is not supported, do not use the code on such pages. If you are not sure whether the lanuage of your home country is supported or not, please ask Google or leave a comment

How do You Boost Your AdSense Income

Google Adsense Money Formula

A lot of people would like to know the success AdSense money formula. The AdSense money formula below is one fundamental formula that you should know.

AdSense Income = sum ( [Price Per Click] X [Number of Click] )

Logically speaking, if you want to make more AdSense money, you have to either increase the number of clicks or the price per click. If you do one or the other your AdSense income will only go up.

Increase the click through rate (CTR) on your AdSense ads is the most obvious strategy that will help you increase your AdSense income. There are two ways you can boost your CTR:

1. Getting more traffic for you AdSense web site,
2. Make your ads more clickable and position them at the right place.

Getting traffic takes time and efforts. It‘s a lot of hard work. There are several techniques that you can use to generate more traffic to your AdSense web site. These techniques are:

* Submit your AdSense web site to search engine and optimize your AdSense web site for search engine.
* Increase link popularity by link exchange, article marketing, directory submission and press release.
* Paid Advertising through classified advertising, banner advertising or search engine advertising.
* Participate in forums/groups related to the content of your AdSense web site.
* Add comments to other blogs.

Making your ads more clickable is another way to increase your AdSense income. It is relatively easy to do because you can adjust your AdSense ad format almost immediately. You can do the following adjustments to your AdSense ad format to improve your click through rate:

* Make them more noticeable by positioning your AdSense ads on top of your AdSense page.
* Google states that the most effective ad formats are 336×280 larger rectangle, the 300×250 inline rectangle, and the 160×600 wide skyscraper. However you should choose the best AdSense ad format that works for your AdSense web site. This requires tracking and testing.
* Create a custom AdSense palette that best suites your AdSense web site. In general, you can follow the following settings:
o Border color : no border or background color of your website
o Background color : background color of your website
o Link color : color of your links
o URL color : black
o Text color : black or color of your main content

Increase AdSense Income by Targeting the Higher-Paying Keywords

You can create unique, relevant and quality contents that target at the higher-paying keywords to increase your average price per click and hence your AdSense income. You should find out which keyword variations for a topic pay more. Often the more specialized variations and phrases pay more than the generic terms.

You can also boost your AdSense income by reducing the occurrence of lower-paying ads. You can use AdSense competitive filter mechanism to filter out the ads that you don’t want to be shown on your AdSense web site. It is suggested by others that showing fewer ads on a page will result in higher-paying ads displayed on your AdSense web site. A lot of publishers report that their AdSense income increase if they remove ads completely from pages with few or no clicks. Again you have to test whether this strategy works in favor of you or not.

As you can see, it involves a lot of hard work if you want to make extra Google AdSense money. You need to put in your time and effort to make it happen.